things I used to read before I had internet

  • A reference manual on mushrooms
  • A book that detailed how to eat various dishes at a formal dinner, including oysters and soup
  • Manual for beekeeping – how to optimize your hive, collecting honey, different materials for the beekeeper’s dress
  • Acupressure(?) – what it is, and how to utilize it
  • Cartoon strips of Spiderman, Peanuts, Denis the menace
  • An encyclopedia collection – the best one listing jobs one could have in Biology with lovely photographs and drawings, and I immediately wanted to become a Botanist who would go to lands with wildflowers, and study them, and draw their pictures in my nature journal. This was in defiance of my other larger ambition to become a medical doctor, a desire lodged somewhere in a tiny recess of my brain and heart. R
  • Interior design magazines that father brought back home after a plane journey – I also wanted to decorate my home in the slightly opulent but also very earth conscious sort of design they peddled.
  • Other in flight magazines from our national air carrier, I read about Kevin Costner and reread it many times. I am not really sure what the article said now.

Also I should note that I would have read each of these books multiple times, just because of the lack of too many to choose from.

Leave a comment