places peeked at only

There are a few places in the world – in the past – where I truly wanted to live.

One was a place in Coimbatore town, I could see it if I walked from my MBA entrance coaching center to my apartment. So it was on the right side of the main road, I mostly took the bus, but sometimes walked, it could take half hour an hour to walk. I couldn’t see much from the road, but this house had white roadside walls, and a metal gate which was sometimes kept open. If I peeked in, I could see plants and short trees and some sort of a house that was not too much visible. I always remember this visual with a dull color, as if there is a translucent film covering my eyes, so it is all a bit dull, even though it’s green and white. I always wanted to know how one lived in that house, what sort of life went on there. 

Another place was an actual house I visited in Assam. It was a tea plantation manager’s house, this was a luxurious place in an old fashioned English manner. It might have been a little too luxurious for my taste, but my attraction for this house was that there were grounds in the backyard of this house. It was probably a private golf course, but I would imagine it away and instead place a natural woods sort of backyard for that house. The possibilities with having woods in my imagined backyard made me breathless, I might quickly eat something dainty and delicious on that fancy dining table and then running off to those woods to explore. 

These are the two places which I can never seem to forget despite having only glimpses of how they were at least 25 years ago.

Leave a comment